Comments on Profile Post by LaDyViL

1. raltzero
    raltzero
    They're actually alternate translations of the Chinese. They aren't wrong. However, if you feel that they ARE wrong, please do tell me which ones were the ones you felt were wrong. As a Chinese translator myself, in addition to having some Chinese background, I do know what I am doing.
    Sep 21, 2017
  2. LaDyViL
    LaDyViL
    Who used those versions of Titles?
    Sep 22, 2017
  3. raltzero
    raltzero
    No one. And don't write that the translator's title is 'official'. Unless it's a company like Qidian International or a website that has the contracts to the novels like WuxiaWorld, please don't write that whatever the translator translates it as is 'official'. I believe that adding alternative interpretations, which are correct, isn't harmful to the NU community.
    Sep 22, 2017
  4. raltzero
    raltzero
    In addition, some titles may be off and adding on additional interpretations doesn't hurt. I guess it's the translator's right to put whatever he feels is the title(e.g. Mai Kitsune Wife), but there should be the true translation of the novel. Perhaps 'ignorance is bliss', but sometimes the title may not be what the author intended it to be.
    Sep 22, 2017
  5. raltzero
    raltzero
    I agree that perhaps some of the title edits may not have been necessary, but they were, and will always be, alternate translations to the author's novel title, unless the author decides to change the title.
    Sep 22, 2017
  6. LaDyViL
    LaDyViL
    If it's not official or related in any way,then it is a readers'interpretation of them, even if you are a translator,if you are unrelated to the translation group, then what you are doing is as a reader, and rather than being under associated names, it is something you can discuss on the forum or you can discuss it with the original translator group to have it as associated
    Sep 22, 2017
  7. runsing
    runsing