Misc Idea for a reincarnation novel with WW2 setting

Discussion in 'Community Fictions' started by gyoga, Jan 5, 2017.

1. gyoga

gyoga Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Well, this is my first time posting here, hope I did not make any mistake regarding the forum rules. I'm not a native English speaker so I'm not sure which language I should write in yet. However I would like to hear your opinions on which aspects should be developed further for this story to be interesting.

General idea:

"It was July 1945, Nazi Germany had fallen and the premise of the Japanese Empire was drawing near. Ignoring the obvious defeat, the government still put all their efforts into repelling the Allies' invasion. Emperor Hirohito, prioritizing his throne and the Imperial House's lineage, wished to have the Three Sacred Treasures near him for safekeeping. A small squad of soldiers was sent to retrieve the mirror Yata no Kagami, which was commonly believed to be placed at the Ise Grand Shrine, from Kagoshima. Contradicting to the popular belief, this mirror was not a mere decorative object but an artifact that held immense power. But this power, however, came at the cost of life, that's why sacrifices had to be prepared.

The protagonist was no Japanese. His father was an undercover agent of Viet Minh - a Vietnamese independence movement led by Ho Chi Minh, who lived in Japan with his family. In 1939, the man's activities was discovered by the secret police unit Kempeitai and he got executed together with his wife. The child luckily escaped death at that time thanks to his father's aikijujutsu master - a renowned martial artist named Takeda Sokaku. 6 years later, due to a righteous act, he was imprisoned and his identity was found out. It happened to be convenient for the Army to have more sacrifices so he was taken along with many political prisoners to Hiroshima, the location at which the ritual would be held.