Discussion Xianxia and religion

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by jbnitro, Jan 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jbnitro

jbnitro Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi everyone! I'm a newbie at writing threads so please don't blame me if I posted in the wrong section.
    I just wanted to know your views on religion in Xianxia.
    I know Xianxia are strictly related to Taoism and chinese folklore, but in many novels of the same genre, Buddhism and other religions (Christianity included) are highly spurned and belittled as hypocritical and evil.
    Is it just a plot device to make enemies out of monks and priests so that the MC can find some new opponents, or is it really a thing in Chinese culture to view other religions so badly?

2. Parth37955

Parth37955 NU #3, [Dead Inside], Mid-Boss, Dark Dealer Staff Member

Reading List:
    Link
    uh...that's all cultures in general. Your own religion has to be the "right" one, so anything else is alien and wrong.

3. Sh1r0r3n

Sh1r0r3n New Year and still a workaholic

Reading List:
    Link
    Lithit and yonna like this.
  4. OverlyFriendly

OverlyFriendly I should do something about

Reading List:
    Link
    It's a plot device and all religions belittle others.
    Because they believe theirs is the right one

5. Exterial

Exterial @pocketbear ,much oneesama, very friendly, kawaii.

Reading List:
    Link
    In xianxa the goal is to become an existence akin to god. Of course religous would be 'evil' 'fake' or overall not taken seriously, in xianxa religion basically means "x strong person set up a religion cos faith energy" so its nothing more than a plot device, also the whole spiritualism thing fits in a lot better than "love thy neighbour" so i hope that answers your question.
    Oh yeah and anyone that believes in a religon automatically hates all other religions saying his is the only true one while the rest are fake.

Falhrus and jbnitro like this.
  6. Danis