Advice on a fluffy yuri novel

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Lucilius, Nov 18, 2018.

1. Lucilius

Lucilius Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    As many of you know, I'm working on a pretty dark Yuri Isekai novel and I appreciate everyone's advice that was given but while I'm working on that, I wanted to make some light hearted fluff with a small tinge of drama and angst to test out the waters of my writing. I've been writing since 2011 and have seen how my writing since then has evolved.

Admittedly, romance above all things is my weakest point. I draw out scenes by basing it off my own experience, I'm no means a stranger to romance regardless if they were all failed relationships. But nonetheless, what I've noticed when writing romance scenes was that I seem to lack the genuine feeling of romance? It felt fake or lacklustre, basically it felt off. If that makes any sense, so yeah. I need advice on writing better romance scenes.

What I should avoid, what I should look out for, what I should put to make it genuine, etc. Those kind of things. This story is only meant to be a one shot that will at best be around 5k to 10k worth of words.

2. Tsuru55

Tsuru55 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Huuuuuhhhh i'm someone that got 0 experience in romance but you can try to read Martial Arts Master for it (normal romance). But i'm also not sure if it can help because it's not isekai but modern world.

Lucilius likes this.
  3. EnerHighwave

EnerHighwave Holy Daugther of Kyuu 8❤️ Speedy's pet Lovely's ❤️

Reading List:
    Link
    You could try to get a not failed relationship but maybe it will feel forced. Anyways as you mature you will find harder to understand love

Lucilius likes this.
  4. crowalternate

crowalternate <<<Just a Background Character>>>

Reading List:
    Link
    Don't Mind me I'm waiting for the advice too.:blobspy::blobupset:

Evil_Ginger and Lucilius like this.
  5. EnerHighwave

Reading List:
    Link