Gaming Laptop under $1500 Recommendation

Discussion in 'Tech Discussion' started by Fluffy Jellyfish, Jul 15, 2019.

1. Necromanico

Necromanico Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Yeah desktop! I have a gaming laptop but that's only because I like gaming at friend's house's and I'm a computer scientist who could use the gpu and ram for reasons.

2. lygarx

lygarx Lazy Translator

Reading List:
    Link
    everything you will ever need
    [​IMG]
    as long as you don't get a mac, anything you buy with that price would be sufficient for the years you want. the materials that it is made out of will degrade over time, so anything you buy new really only has a shelf life of so long. with a laptop, you have to replace the whole thing to keep up with the times. but with a desktop, you really only need to replace the gpu and rom when things get out of date or just individual pieces at a time. generally the desktop over the course of many years will save you thousands over your entire life of gaming as long as all parts are compatible when you upgrade. everything is always changing so you never really know.
    I am assuming that you are probably starting to live in college dorms if you are asking for laptop recommendations for gaming. I recommend comparing the parts that the laptops are made out of. specifically gpu and cpu. most likely you can add more ram on your own and change the harddrive to an ssd or hybrid later on.

Last edited: Jul 15, 2019
  3. WinByDying

WinByDying I can count to four

Reading List:
    Link
    In my experience they last longer. Gaming and laptop do go into the same phrase. People that need the mobility and still want the punch. Are you going to tell me that e.g. a 1060 is not fit for gaming? I ran with an 860m for years and did plenty of gaming on it. Far Cry 5 was too much for the thing to handle, but by then it was five years old and it still ran a lot of other games.