Tips for staying motivated while writing my novel

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Emissary Nouvelle, Feb 6, 2021.

1. Emissary Nouvelle

Emissary Nouvelle Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    The struggle us real. I have the novel plan in my head but it takes so much time and it's so exhausting that it's hard to even start after I've stopped. I've been on hiatus since last year or the year before that. I'm just a noob author but veteran reader. (I'm on Webnovel Qidian) it's just so hard to write the words despite knowing what I want to do.

OhNoItsRory likes this.
  2. hansora

hansora Someone Who Seeks Fluff & Heartwarming Stories

Reading List:
    Link
    Try to write even a bit daily, that's what I usually do. Once, I went into hiatus for half a year before picking up my first book again. It's on WebNovel too

But, if you feel like you're tired, don't push yourself. Or try by writing notes on a notebook too as you imagine the way to expand your story

3. koyavv

koyavv Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    When that happens to me, I usually write something else, a short story or a one-shot, and then the motivation comes back. You can also try to write only the moments you like the most in a draft, without worrying about the chapters

aintg likes this.
  4. rerere27

rerere27 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Listening to music. Print pictures and post it in your wall (pictures of sceneries, a model of your character, etc).

That's what i do in order to be motivated.

5. Uhoh_

Uhoh_ Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    It's based on what kind of person you are. For me I try to find really really bad novels with a similar trope or story (bonus if it has a lot of views or a lot of praise) to motivate myself that I can do better.

6. Emissary Nouvelle

Reading List:
    Link
    Lol, you a savage

7. OhNoItsRory

OhNoItsRory New Member

Reading List:
    Link