Bogged down w/ Specific Era-related Terms

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by BookIt, Feb 18, 2019.

1. BookIt

BookIt Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I'm super idiotic but I really wanted to write a world-hopping novel based on transmigration but from the system's POV? Nvm the details, I'm killing myself trying to find helpful resources with terms Chinese people would use.
    Hint hint, just because you're Asian doesn't mean you'll get insta-resources from your Asian parents. Not like I can ask them what the direct translation of an ajumma is or what the slang word for prostitute in Chinese would be :/ That would be a really awkward conversation over the phone.
    I figured this would be common problems translators have so this thread is kind of directed towards you guys as well? How do you guys go about translating Chinese terms and how do you write it in? I'm super excited about writing this novel because it's my first time tackling a long long one but the first two arcs really giving me a headache >_< \
    One is set in modern-day China and the other in a wuxia sort of setting. I literally have fill in the blanks littered throughout the thing QAQ

So is there some super handy list with all the Chinese terms a wannabe author could ask for or do I have to despair and just make everything European related? Even if there isn't a list, I've been looking at novels here on the website. Since I'm a pure BL fan, I'm going to be honest. I never realized there were that many MTL's >~< And not all of them have the terms explained??
    Anyhow, begging for help from more experienced writers and translators orz
    (The random emboldened words are just to help you not murder your eyes. I tend to ramble heh)

2. Silver Snake

Silver Snake Magician of NUF|Show-off|Awkward|Genius

Reading List:
    Link
    *reads the first sentence* Oooh myyy god.

3. BookIt

BookIt Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Q-Q, not even reading the second sentence?