Question Chinese Author Rewrote First Arc of Story I'm Translating

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Creativity53, Jun 29, 2020.

1. Creativity53

Creativity53 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi, I am a translator. I just realized today that the Chinese author rewrote the entire first arc of the story that I'm translating. However, I have only translated about half of the original 1st arc. Should I retranslate the entire new 1st arc or continue with the old arc or should I translate both? For translators, has this ever happened to you before?

Last edited: Jul 16, 2021
    Deleted member 125960 likes this.
  2. MangoGuy

MangoGuy Rambling Mango

Reading List:
    Link
    It depends on how much of the story has been changed. I am not a TL, but as a reader, if the changes are significant and I am invested in the story, I would read again from the start. But if the changes are minor such that they could be considered to be just edits, I wouldn't bother.
    I am guessing that as a TL, you might want to consider slowly going back chapter by chapter to correct them.

3. Creativity53

Reading List:
    Link
    It's completely different. Actually, the Chinese author finished writing the story a couple months ago, but I think he/she went back to revise things. Originally, the author only made some minor changes so I told my readers and decided not to change it. However, today, the Chinese author completely changed the story. As a reader, would you be interested in reading both versions?

4. Deleted member 125960

Deleted member 125960 Guest

Reading List:
    Link
    I agree with mister mango, a retranslation would be for the best. ^^ Good luck, I look forward to reading it! :blob_pompom:

Creativity53 likes this.
  5. Bellilelly

Bellilelly Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Will u kill me if I say yes....(//∇//)

Creativity53 likes this.
  6. 0000000

0000000 I B SMILING!

Reading List:
    Link