Question [CN] translating modern internet slangs

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by MonaLily, Nov 13, 2018.

1. MonaLily

MonaLily Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    i always struggle translating internet slangs/memes lol. every time i encounter them, i'll try to keep the meaning as much as possible but kept it pretty funny/memeful, sometimes i even replace it with another slang/meme with similar meaning. I feel like i want to retain the tone of the author. But sometimes it's too hard to do that lol. I find it very common in modern web novels (transmigrations, online game based, etc.). usually the slang is used to make the situation funnier or to break the fourth wall.

你像哪块小饼干?- which snowflake do you think you are?
    好了陈独秀请你坐下 - Okay, Mr. Showoff sit down now.
    孩纸你扶错墙了- you're barking up the wrong tree.
    吃瓜群众 - eating popcorn / sitting on the fence

i'm not good at english slangs so it's such a pain to translate them.
    i know the meaning of these, but i don't know how to convey it well.
    1. anything that has to do with “逼”, 傻逼 二逼 牛逼 逗逼 装逼 : dumbass, emotional binch, fcking awesome, ???????
    2. 大猪蹄子 - to tease men who are dense / slow to realise things (esp. relationship)
    3. 拿小锤锤锤你胸口 - (lost in translation)
    4. 抱大腿 - throwing away all your dignity to flatter someone
    5. “我就坑死你” - (lost in translation)
    6. 脑洞 ; 脑补 - my brain hurts ; Head Cannon/wishful thinking
    7. 大大!带我开车!- (lost in translation)
    8. 走过最长的套路就是_____的套路 - (lost in translation)
    9. “天啊!他想日你!” - "well he wants to pork you."
    10. “让我皮一下” - playful / mischievious / pranks people (but saying it in a cute way)
    11. 棺材板压不住了 - something along the lines of "Newton did not die a virgin for you to defy laws of gravity"
    12. 强喂狗粮 - being forced to watch PDA
    13. 心机 boi - meaning putting a lot of thoughts into something. can be good or bad (being attentive/considerate or tricky/cunning)