how to start a translation project?

Discussion in 'Novel General' started by genreygonzales, Nov 2, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. genreygonzales

genreygonzales Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I've started reading light/web novels about 5 years ago. I was greatly fascinated and interested about the idea of starting one myself but didn't have the time and opportunity to do so as i was deeply focused in my university studies. Now that I've finished my studies, i want to start my own project albeit not as a full time thing. Specifically, i want to translate japanese novels. The reason for this is im currently studying japanese right now where i started about 2 weeks ago. Im learning it slowly but surely but my drive is slowly diminishing. I plan to start a translation project to both hone my japanese reading skills and as a hobby. Right now as i still don't have a job (don't look at me like that, i'm looking for one) so i might be able to do it full time.

Also, where do you usually look for raw web novels? I want to first try doing it on something easy first so if you have a recommendation where and what to start, please tell me. Also, as you have read, im a real noob. Because of that, i want to use a translation device to help me translate things that i cant read. Again, if you have a recommendation on what translation device i should use, please tell me.

2. Noche

Noche New Member

Reading List:
    Link
  3. AliceShiki

AliceShiki 『Ms. Tree』『Magical Girl of Love and Justice』

Reading List:
    Link
    Hmmmmmm... Let's see...

If you wish to translate, you first need a website, either you create one (probably by using wordpress), or you join a group. I think @LysUltima 's group is quite welcoming for new people, not sure of others that are willing to take in people that are just starting (I don't know if Lys' group is willing either.)