Question Is it compulsory to have my own website to put novels in NU.

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by raven00, Nov 24, 2021.

1. raven00

raven00 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hello, so i kinda need some help here. I'm new to translating novels and I recently picked up the translation of Dry Monsoon novel. Is it compulsory for me to have my own website to post the chapters and link them to NU. I'm kinda broke right now and not in a position to have my own website. I'm just asking, is it fine if I post the novel chapters in Wattpad and put the chapter links in NU. I haven't done it just asking, is it illegal. Or are there any other methods where I can publish novel chapters somewhere. Love to have some advice.

Xian-laoshi likes this.
  2. DanielleAfarit

DanielleAfarit Member

Reading List:
    Link
    There are free sites like Blogger and WordPress. All you need is an account (which is free) and you can set up a blog to post your translations on.
    It's fine to post on Wattpad but they're quite notorious for deleting novels, especially Korean ones, and banning the translators' accounts. So, if you do plan on hosting your novel on Wattpad, I'd suggest having a back-up blog where you can re-post your chapters if they ever get deleted.
    You could also join a group (just check the #recruitment tag) and post everything on the group's website.

raven00 and FelicitaScarlet like this.
  3. Xian-laoshi

Xian-laoshi Teacher Hamsie Xian

Reading List:
    Link
    You can try joining a translation group— that's what I recommend the most. Aside from having a fellow translator friends, they can also help you when you're having difficulty with a phrase, term, or something. Also, I think most of the groups offer shared ad revenue, too, so you can somehow earn while translating. It's not much, but the extra funds can help you buy raws and maybe an extra cup of milk tea or coffee, too! ❤️

4. AliceShiki