Question Just how good is google when Translating Japanese

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Hamster, Nov 13, 2017.

1. Hamster

Hamster Bloodthirsty Hamstie

Reading List:
    Link
    Just how good is google when translating japanese now or in the future is it in the level of replacing human translators? I've started learning japanese for a couple of months now cuz i want to read japanese novels ,manga raw so is it too late for me or what im been doing is in vain?

2. yapla

yapla Member

Reading List:
    Link
    so this is your text translated in jp and then in anglish again..... simple right? but....
    When translating Japanese right now, or when translating in the future, how good is google is at the level to replace human translators? I have been learning Japanese for a couple of months. I'd like to read Japanese novels. Manga is not yet alive.

kenar, ORoger and Shance like this.
  3. gunmim

gunmim Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    im pretty sure that unless a true AI is created or there is a big breakthrough in translating or quantum computing ( probably need both) then human translating will be a lot better even if a lot slower

4. Kaminomi

Kaminomi Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    What do you mean "too late"?
    Well ithink google not really good with translating ,but its google they will find way

5. Mizura

Mizura Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Not very. Ranges from somewhat readable for some series, to a complete jumbled mess.

In the future: maybe. In the foreseeable future: not at all.

Not at all. Learning the basics of the language will help you a Lot when trying to figure out the Google Translation: Google Translate sometimes gives you complete nonsense, but a quick look at the raws can be surprisingly helpful, even for very simple things like 'so there's an 'を' particle there, that was actually the object'.