Looking for Work Looking to start Proofreading

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by TennoTimur, Sep 2, 2019.

1. TennoTimur

TennoTimur New Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi guys I'm intrested in proofreading translated novels. Complete novice haven't tried anything like this before. Wanted to help and advice on getting started.
    Thanks

2. DocB

DocB "I see you, little mouse! Run along"

Reading List:
    Link
    simple, find a novel you like, check for grammatical errors and comment them to the translator ,with information on line, wrong sentece, corrected sentnce, reason why one is wrong (if no obvious or just mistyped)

if you want experience you cqn start with this post, all errors were on purpose and not becuase i'm a lazy bastard that does not want to go back and fix them

Pierrot, grandurr and nonononononono like this.
  3. nonononononono

nonononononono NONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONONO

Reading List:
    Link
    Second this.

4. RR Vocaloid

RR Vocaloid RoyalRoad.com Slepragt

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi guys[,] I'm int[e]rested in proofreading translated novels. [I’m a c]omplete novice[; I] haven't tried anything like this before. Wanted to [get] help and advice on getting started.
    Thanks[.]

First things first, try to learn grammar a bit more, especially commas and punctuation. Then, practice by correcting everything you see wrong in chapters, what you text/post, and other peoples’ statements. You don’t have to post your corrections if you don’t want to, but it’ll get you into the mindset of proofreading/editing when you read.

xiazixin, Barnnn, DankMCD and 7 others like this.
  5. xiazixin

xiazixin Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    wow grammar NAZI

6. Kiskaiya

Kiskaiya 【Let’s pretend】

Reading List:
    Link
    Kind of the point of a proofreader

xiazixin, Pierrot, Snowbun and 2 others like this.
  7. TennoTimur

TennoTimur New Member

Reading List:
    Link