Making a map in c++

Discussion in 'Tech Discussion' started by Zaart, Sep 26, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Zaart

Zaart Deer Master Race

Reading List:
    Link
    Hey guys,
    so well i was trying to make a game (yay) but everyone said that in c it was not going to work well (sob)

so fast forward to today where i learnt a bit of c++, and to make a game i have to make a map!

so should i use linked list and some rpg maker tileset (one member of the linked list = one of the tileset, and then i draw those on the screen depending on a file with number to know where to put what)

or should i plan all my maps in advance and do it like "oh player is in map 3, i should load this set!"

with linked list it might be easier to know where a wall is....

as you can probably see i am a bit lost about where to start -.-

2. The Hamster Overlord

The Hamster Overlord Mad scientist/Revered wizard/Alleged antichrist

Reading List:
    Link
    I'm not a professional but the second option seems more efficient

3. Art Of Throwing

Art Of Throwing Spare me

Reading List:
    Link
    It might be easier to use rpg maker. if u do all the maps in advance then u need to do it all hardcoded right?

4. SublimeWay

SublimeWay Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I’m curious why you went with C++ for your first try at game dev. You might want to consider something a little more user friendly in your first attempt. Personally I prefer Unity and C# as there’s a huge amount of tutorials and knowledge base out there, and it’s free to use for your purposes.

Also wondering why you chose a linked list instead of an array.

5. sgrey

sgrey Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link