Recommendations New to Xianxia. Looking for Solid Rec

Discussion in 'I'm Looking For...' started by Battalion, Nov 9, 2020.

1. Battalion

Battalion Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi,

Basically the title. I am new to Xianxia, and the novel scene in general, just looking for a decent Xianxia (I don't care if its "generic," I am new to the scene anyways, so it won't be generic to me) with a decent MC (not cocky or super rude or a piece of crap) and a solid plot (no excessive plot armor) / good worldbuilding (Expansive world, many settings), and good translation.

What I have read:
    - Martial World (Loved this Xianxia, 5/5)
    - Hail the King (Very good, not as good as MW, 4/5)
    - Throne of the Magical Arcana (Idk if its Xianxia, 3/5)
    - Sovereign of 3 Realms (3/5)
    - When A Mage Revolts (Idk if its Xianxia, 3.5/5)
    - The Human Emperor (Xuanhuan, 4.5/5, it's a lot more political then the rest of the list but the plot made it shine!)
    - The Amber Sword (Wuxia, 3.5/5)

Looking for something like Martial World, basically. That's the first real xianxia I've read, a lot of the ones I've read are Wuxia / Xuanhuan, but it's really all the same premise, people becoming powerful thru stages, whether it be physical or magical or whatever kind of fighting. What really matters to me is the plot is good, well-written, not amateurish. But it can be generic! Just has to be good writing.

Edit: No evil and apathetic MC (Like Reverend Insanity), No comedy-centric novel (like Cultivation Chat Group)

What I have Tried:
    - A Will Eternal (MC is kind of a Piece of S..., definitely dropped immedietly, plus its comedy ew)
    - Reverend Insanity (POS MC, dropped)
    - Cultivation Chat Group (comedy)
    - Lord of the Mysteries (Industrial era, 17th century Europe vibes, deinitely not my thing)
    - ISSTH: Boring intro, MC seems like a jerk, just a total turn-off