Opinion on TDG wikia main page and organization

Discussion in 'Novel General' started by sithkazar, Apr 24, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sithkazar

sithkazar Professional Screw Up

Reading List:
    Link
    Let me start off with saying that I'm not trying to push people into going to the wikia or anything underhanded. I have included a screenshot so that you can view the wikia home page without visiting it if you don't want to. Also, sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum.

Screenshot:
    home.jpg
    (you can open it in another window to view it larger)

In the past, I have found that I have a very "narrow-minded" view of the world and tend to miss obvious things because of it (can't see the forest for the trees type). I am not a very artistic person and am more the type to have detailed spreadsheets of information. It is also ingrained in my nature to dislike change, even to my own detriment. But I try to be aware of my own faults to somewhat lessen the times I make a spectacular fool of myself. So I am asking for input from others, whether you read Tales of Demons and Gods or not.

I started the wikia back when Thyaeria first started TDG mostly for my own benefit and everything I know about how wikis work I have self taught since then (I have rarely used them in the past). However, I never thought it would become as popular as it has. Despite that, it is still largely managed by myself (though lately I have had some help from a few editors). Just recently it was suggested to me to make the home page of the wikia more appealing and better organized. I agreed that it could use some work, but like I said, I hate change. So I have been making some small compromises to improve it. Obviously, the most important thing is that the page is set up in the easiest and most useful way.