Opinions?

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Avylon, Sep 18, 2020.

1. Avylon

Avylon Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hello,
    I'm a long term writer of mostly fantasy and mystery stories.
    Up until now I've been working mostly in my native language which I cherish for much bigger vocabulary and syntax options but well, the time has come and I'm thinking about translating something to English, or writing anew, so that wider audience can reach it.
    Is it worth it?
    What are the options of posting?
    How to find your readers?
    Will everybody hate me for some grammatical errors?

Thank you for your time

2. Saitama.sensei

Saitama.sensei [[xiantian lifeform]]

Reading List:
    Link
    1. Is it worth it? - Well that’s subjective.. if you’re talking from just a monetary stand point then yeah obviously it is, the greater your audience the more views/readers you’d generate and more mullah you’d make.

2. what are the options of posting? - you could get in touch with a translating group that has a site and negotiate a deal with them, you could also post on Scribble hub that’s here on NU or you could sell your soul to the devil (webnovel/QI).

3. how to find your readers? - that’s easy, here on NU

4. Will everyone hate me for some grammatical errors? - yes and no.. well they won’t hate you, but they can be a little mean in their comments at times so be ready for that.. so long as it’s not a major blunder I don’t think most people would mind much (not including grammar nazi’s cause I doubt they’re even human) but judging from your post I’d say your English is pretty decent, of course I can’t compare this little post with a novel but, it seems like you won’t generate as much hate as other translating sites that seem like straight MTL with negative editing done so I think you’ll be fine

3. brigs11

brigs11 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link