Resolved replace (‽) with (!?)?

Discussion in 'Tech Discussion' started by Miku, Sep 10, 2019 at 2:50 PM.

  1. Miku

    Miku contact me at 090-69143-73641

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    430
    Reading List:
    Link
    This (‽) hurts me personally. can I replace (‽) in a certain Q site and the underground one with saner option like (!?) in my browser?
     
  2. Anra7777

    Anra7777 Fujoshi, Lily’s fan, GonZ’s owner, Daisy’s pet

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2,390
    Reading List:
    Link
    o_O never seen that before. It is certainly insane, though.
     
    RougeAsura, MaliMi and otaku31 like this.
  3. otaku31

    otaku31 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    5,183
    Reading List:
    Link
    Looks more like interrointerrupted than interrobang. :blobrofl::blobrofl:
     
  4. comradeprozac

    comradeprozac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    33
    Reading List:
    Link
    Sure, you can, just tell us which browser you use.
    If you use chrome or a Chromiun derivative you can use Use My Words
    If you are using Firefox you can use FoxReplace
    And if you are using Edge/IE then use a real browser please.
     
    Traveling Chef, Ddraig, Miku and 5 others like this.
  5. Liyus

    Liyus Laksha's Desu~ Cat

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    3,381
    Reading List:
    Link
    Word Replacer II......chrome extension
     
    otaku31 likes this.
  6. sgrey

    sgrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    820
    Reading List:
    Link
    you should be able to if you use a different font? btw what is that? is that actually a "!?" ??? never seen it... I thought it was a letter
     
  7. comradeprozac

    comradeprozac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    33
    Reading List:
    Link
    I don't think that would work, since that's a single character and not a ligature of two characters (two characters combined into a single glyph). If anything using a different font may just make that disappear completely. Using a find and replace tool would work better.

    BTW, the unicode character ⁉ is similar, as it's a single character depicting two symbols.

    PS: If you are a translator please don't use full-width question or exclamation marks, sometimes they don't render properly, and even if they do render properly they just look like a mistake when there's a space between the end of the word and the mark.

    Question?
    Question?

    Exclamation!
    Exclamation
     
  8. sgrey

    sgrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    820
    Reading List:
    Link
    it's true. I didn't know what it was, apparently it is called interrobang... replacing it would be better... but if the text is really long or getting loaded with ajax like it's done in a certain qi site, it might not work well.
     
  9. Jeebus

    Jeebus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    575
    Reading List:
    Link
    You could replace that glyph with a single '?'. You might lose the impact of the interrobang, but you'll retain the grammatical structure of the interrogative.
     
  10. Miku

    Miku contact me at 090-69143-73641

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    430
    Reading List:
    Link
    Eh? But this is for my house of horrors, which is a Q site... until it reached the ones covered by subversive site though... I thought @comradeprozac gives me the solution for this...:blob_teary::blobsneeze::blob_teary:
     
  11. comradeprozac

    comradeprozac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    33
    Reading List:
    Link
    ??? Those extensions I posted before should work for that?
     
  12. Jeebus

    Jeebus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    575
    Reading List:
    Link
    Never used them, so I can't say for sure. There are a lot of different ways for websites to render in your browser, so it might not work everywhere.
     
  13. comradeprozac

    comradeprozac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    33
    Reading List:
    Link
    While I haven't used the chrome extension I have used FoxReplace or one quite similar to it. While it may not imminently replace words in pages that use infinite scrolling it does have a way to apply changes to the currently rendered page. It basically look at anything that isn't an HTML tag, and if you tell it even them, and makes the changes. So even in a page like that Q site it should work perfectly.
     
    Miku likes this.