Question Researching for TL Academy: How do you translate?

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by kookiedreamer, Jan 23, 2016.

1. kookiedreamer

kookiedreamer Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I'm planning on establishing a sort-of TL Academy in the future, to inspire and aid wannabe translators with any level of experience, whether they be complete beginners with no experience or even current translators, machine translators, or machine-assisted translators.
    I currently intend to focus on translating Japanese webnovels, possibly expanding in the future.

So, it would be great if you translators out there could give me some tips and advice, and maybe explain your translating process?

makenai89, Daily, maskedcerf and 2 others like this.
  2. schnitter

schnitter Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi am a machine translator who is slowly practicing at Diwasteman and am wondering how would you aid others. Will it be a place where we place questions and you try to answer or will it be like a blog where you will post how to interpret difficult and complicated sentences structures, certain grammar and particles etc.

Slimikyi likes this.
  3. godofmochi

godofmochi Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    But you're a translator yourself!
    Anyway...uhhh... when I translate, I look at the raws. Then I translate. If there are any parts that I'm uncertain about, I leave that till the end. When working on the uncertain parts, I use google translate and systranet to help me, and I also check with online dictionaries~
    If that doesn't work, I search on forums and stuff for a solution. If even that doesn't work, I ask other translators. If the other translators don't know, I either go jump off a cliff, make a guess and leave a note about it or simply translate it the best way I can.
    Hope this helps (it probably won't but anyway...)!

Slimikyi likes this.
  4. kookiedreamer

kookiedreamer Well-Known Member

Reading List: