Question Should I pick up a 3rd language as insurance?

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Eishun, Apr 23, 2021.

1. Eishun

Eishun Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    So I've been working as a Chinese-to-English translator for nearly 2 years now.

And things are going fine, I guess. But since I have the intention to continue working as a translator for the next decade or so, I can't help but want to do everything I can to ensure my longevity in this industry.

So I was wondering if I should start studying a third language (Korean or Japanese for example)? And what language should I consider?

2. Starfox Stellar

Starfox Stellar Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I'm not a translator, but I think learning a third language wouldn't hurt, and it can be useful in other situations. For what language...hmm...I think you should look at the type of novels you like to translate and see which language's novels to be more on that side. If you are into Kpop vs Jpop, or Vtubers, or mukbangers; things like that can also help on deciding. For my personal preference, I would say Japanese just because I want to visit Japan but don't have the time (or money) for it.

nyamachi, Prolux and Halcyon Observer like this.
  3. MerciJessi

MerciJessi Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I think learning a third language is a good thing if u have time and energy to do so. It’s definitely an asset. I would say Korean tho cuz korean novels and manhwas are emerging and i think it will continue to grow so maybe it could help if u want to branch out in the industry? But i would say just choose the language u most incline to because learning with motivation will help you more than just wanting to learn it to trade for stability as you may feel tired overtime.
    Anyway, good luck to you and may your translating career prosper in long term

4. Napelynn

Napelynn Tuna Angel

Reading List:
    Link