Question Supporting Authors Through Patronage

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Little_Cutie_Stars, Feb 18, 2019.

?

Would setting up Patreon for authors be a good idea?

1. No

6 vote(s)
    31.6%
  2. Yes

13 vote(s)
    68.4%
  1. Little_Cutie_Stars

Little_Cutie_Stars Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    There’s this thing with some translators accepting donations. I don’t do that because of various reasons, such as how I’m not the author and just a translator.

I was viewing some threads today about donations and how Syosetu doesn’t pay their authors, which made me feel really bad for them.

That’s when I thought of setting up a Patreon where readers can donate money to but instead of those donations going to me, they all go to the author. I have zero experience with Patreon, hence why I’m making this thread. I was going to search up information on this but I thought it would be a better idea to ask for a fellow translators’ opinion because a lot of them use Patreon and know how things truly work. Please inform me on the pros and cons of Patreon. Also, is the idea realistic enough?

Basically, I want to help authors who have let me translate their work in the best way that I can. Obviously, since I’m not apart of some publishing company, this would be the best I could do for them.

Jaspaaar, Shio, jbturkle and 9 others like this.
  2. SoulZer0

SoulZer0 Heaven Refining

Reading List:
    Link
    You're doing God's work. Good luck.

Shio and Sherrynity like this.
  3. NekoMK2

NekoMK2 Lazy cat, [self proclaimed GM_Rusaku Disciples]

Reading List:
    Link
    Uuh before you going forward with this why you ask them first is they willing to accept or not, as far i remember Syosetu really different compared to Qidian in their policy that way author isnt paid, since Syosetu also didnt charge them, syosetu more like place to write that way reader also have free acces