Question Wanna translate my novel to English and Japanese, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Mai_L, Aug 13, 2022.

1. Mai_L

Mai_L Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi everyone, so I wrote a novel in Chinese, but imitated the writing style of Japanese light novels. Now the first 4 chapters as the first volume have completed, and I am trying to translate it into English and Japanese, and in the future I want to contribute to "syosetu". But, I'm a total newbie to translation, espcially in translating something to Japanese, even with the help of some tools like the glossary features of DeepL pro. So I would be very grateful for some advice on the following questions:

1. Is there any commonly used to-English glossaries you are using when translating some popular light novels? I just got stuck when translating the first sentence, because I don't know what word should be use for "Isekai"(異世界) in English.
    the DeepL pro glossary feature can only be used for EN<->JP, and for some reason, most online translator will do CN->EN->JP when asked to do CN->JP, and this make sentences very weird even with the help of glossary feature, for glossary feature is unabled when doing CN->EN.

2. Are there any novice precautions for rookies who are new to translation? It's still kind of difficult for me to search English websites for needed information, so it would be very helpful if some links could be given.

3. In general, where do people go to find Japanese-style light novels in English? If the translation start, I want to post my english-version novel somewhere, but English novel website is a whole new world for me. I have found some websites translating CN->EN but mostly for wuxia-style novels.