Discussion What motivates you to translate?

Discussion in 'Novel General' started by Milktea33, May 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Milktea33

Milktea33 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    My full question would be, "What motivates you to do fan translations even when aggregator sites steal your work, or if you're thinking that your translations would be taken down at some point?"

I'm a fairly new translator myself (just started last month) and being new to the community, I'm finding it disheartening lately to do translations. Especially since I do MTL and it's a lot of work. And what if I end up translating 100+ chapters only for it to be taken down? Is it worth it?

Any thoughts? Experiences?

2. UnGrave

UnGrave ななひ~^^

Reading List:
    Link
    Absolutely nothing. I just did sometime. Perhaps I'll continue?

3. Greedyspree

Greedyspree 『Exile within the back room』

Reading List:
    Link
    It will always be alot of work, and it will never feel worth it. Between the raw hate of readers, the sarcasm, douchebaggery and utter jackasses the internet breeds, there honestly isnt enough money in it for it to be worth the effort it takes to translate it. If you enjoyt he novel/book it will make it better at least, but honestly outside of truly paid official translator type work, you wont get enough for your efforts. Especially not for web novels.

Zerak likes this.
  4. Fuyuneko

Fuyuneko winter cat

Reading List:
    Link
    For the Crazy Adventures of Wu Gate, it's because I really love the novel and I hope other people will read it and enjoy it as much I do.

Ars and Zerak like this.
  5. snowflake_obsidian

snowflake_obsidian Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    My primary reason for translating is to help improve my Chinese skills.

Update: I should probably mention that it's somewhat relaxing due to the novel itself. I'd feel differently if
    • the book were extremely long