What to do

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Silver Snake, Nov 15, 2019.

1. Silver Snake

Silver Snake Magician of NUF|Show-off|Awkward|Genius

Reading List:
    Link
    I want to write but I'm not sure how to go about it.

It's not that I don't think I can write or that I've never written before. I've written a 40 and 90 page story and about a dozen 600 word shorts. But I'm not sure what I should or want to do next. A while back I said to myself that I would focus on writing fan fiction in order to build up an audience. All of my previous works have been original. You see, my shorts and 40 page story gathered little to no attention, but my 90 page story, where I posted a chapter online a couple of times a week over 2 months, garnered a little less than 200 readers by the end of it. And compared to little to no attention, that's a lot.

But then I think about how I could get more. And I genuinely believe I could get many more readers in a shorter amount of time if I were to write fan fiction. And it's not as if I can't think of any, (like a story where rick and morty are in a pokemon universe, (yes, I know about the mobile game) where rick is the professor and morty wants to collect gym badges, but rick keeps on taking morty off on adventures where they encounter legendary pokemon and groups like team rocket.) But the idea of using pre-generated characters/settings feels so limiting. I mean, I feel like doing my own stuff at the moment. Like a sci-fi space adventure!