Discussion Whats up with these harem novels?

Discussion in 'Novel Discussion' started by Zeeb, Feb 28, 2023.

1. Zeeb

Zeeb Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Why are so many harem novels not tagged as harem?
    Basically I absolutely loathe harems. Not because think it's wrong, whatever floats your boat, but because I enjoy a normal romance so much that I get irked whenever there more than 1 interest. I can't even stand love triangles. Tch.

Anyway about the tags, I always exclude harem from tags when I search but regardless 90% of the novels have multiple people tryna jump on the MC's MD if ya get me. In my opinion this is still a harem. Even if the MC is loyal to one, as long as he doesn't deny others I'd still say that's a harem. Is that wrong? Or is the harem tag strict on what's classed as a harem and what isn't?

Also did I post this in the right place? I've never used a forum before. Does this work?

2. Goblin Sleuth

Goblin Sleuth Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    You know I'm the opposite, I hate it when a tag is used when it doesn't really qualify in the first place. Like you'll have a protagonist that has the occasional one night stand, but never gets into a serious relationship or makes any of his flings official. Yet for some reason it will get tagged as a harem story, and every time he sleeps with a new girl someone will make an idiotic comment about a new girl joining the harem.

Pacekot likes this.
  3. Zeeb

Zeeb Active Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Mmm Well in the first place if he's having one night stands then there probably isn't a main girl in the first place right? At least not yet. So let alone a harem that's not even romance. I guess this depends on whether said girl sticks around the MC afterwards. And if she still sticks after we've got a main girl then I'd say its a harem.

4. Goblin Sleuth

Reading List:
    Link