Xianxia/LN Rant

Discussion in 'Novel General' started by SnackRobber, Dec 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SnackRobber

SnackRobber Member

Reading List:
    Link
    So, first with a little background information. I'm still fairly new to the novel scene as I have only started looking for and reading them in the past year as my interest in manga has been in decline for a while. Mangas based off of LNs are what got me here in the first place and with finding the Xianxia category in the last four months or so, I have quite enjoyed reading them as it gave me a look into Chinese based LNs over Korean and Japanese only. With that out of the way I just have to get something off my chest as this mainly correlates to the Xianxia novels.

WHY OH WHY do I feel like Robert Jordan is ghostwriting the majority of these novels sometimes, I mean there are sometimes entire chapters or like 80-90% with just reactions of the crowd with each person literally saying the same thing over and over again just with different Chinese idioms or even the same ones sometimes. This also seems to happen a lot when it comes to the description of one of the many harem character's beauty that pops up in the story, this seems to happen with most if not all authors. It just bugs me really with so much wasted space.
    DFSLKSJD:FLKJSD:LKFJSIOEUOROWIERFKLSEJF
    Anyway, I just had to get that off my chest, rant over. Happy reading everybody.

2. Evilnemesis7

Evilnemesis7 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I chuckled.

Linley likes this.
  3. Odyssey

Odyssey Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    just writing styles man just like with in 3 paragraphs atleast 2x will the author repeat about why the character can do [blah] because he has [blah] or is [blah]

4. Parth37955

Parth37955 NU #3, [Dead Inside], Mid-Boss, Dark Dealer Staff Member

Reading List:
    Link
    They have a quota...this is what makes ISSTH so awesome. Er Gen doesn't add any fluff