About Standard PS4 cleaning.

Discussion in 'Tech Discussion' started by xconan25x, Dec 31, 2019.

1. xconan25x

xconan25x Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hello I'm noob here just wanna ask if I disassemble my STANDARD PS4 for cleaning, do I need to reaplly my thermal paste?

My previous cleanup on my PS4 was only way up to my dvd disc so I didn't get a chance to remove the motherboard fearing I broke something from it. But now I wanna try whole cleaning my ps4 so i hope some of you know the answer about thermal paste, I wanna clean my motherboard badly cause I see some corrosion on it.

T.N. My PS4 thermal phase hasnt been change since I bought it. My PS4 was 4 years old with usage time of 6 to 8 hrs a week not day.

Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  2. LNreader

LNreader Courting Death

Reading List:
    Link
    watch a youtube video

Deleted member 155674 likes this.
  3. xconan25x

Reading List:
    Link
    Already did it didnt tell if do I need to reapply my thermal paste after tear down.

4. VBS

VBS Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    If you did not separate the cooler from the motherboard, leave it be.

If you removed the cooler from the CPU (stripped down all the way to the motherboard) - to the point where the old thermal paste is visible - you should remove and replace the thermal paste while you're at it.

Wipe off the old thermal paste thoroughly, clean both the CPU and heat sink surface thoroughly with alcohol, and put a new drop of thermal paste on there. I'm sure you can find videos on YouTube about cleaning and reapplying thermal paste.

Or, if you're lazy: https://www.amazon.com/Innovation-Cooling-Graphite-Thermal-Pad/dp/B07CKVW18G

5. xconan25x

Reading List:
    Link
    So if I ever separate the cooler from motherboard it needed to replace the thermal phase everytime I teardown my PS4. Anyway thanks.

6. VBS

VBS Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    It depends...