Copyright, why you should understand it as a creator

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Vanidor, May 9, 2020.

1. Vanidor

Vanidor Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    So, first off I am not a lawyer, and if I was I wouldn't be your lawyer! So this isn't legal advice (and yeah on this topic that is very important).

If you are creating things like novels, short stories, photographs, videos, music, etc. you should find a guide for your particular countries copyright law and read through it. If you are creating stuff or uploading to a site based in another country then you should read up on the laws there.

Here's a UK link to start with but again it varies a lot by country : https://library.leeds.ac.uk/info/1405/copyright/33/copyright_explained

My summaries, you can find better out there(google it!!!), to various questions.

1) What is copyright and who does it cover?
    Years ago various governments decided that creators should be able to control and make money off their creations for some amount of time. That is the fundamental idea, that people creating something should have some kind of control for a set time.

It doesn't protect ideas, facts, or thoughts, only a particular expression of them. As in it doesn't let people copyright the idea of a romance set in Rome, only a particular romance set in Rome.

Copyright wasn't universal though at the start so many US publishing companies got their start taking works by people like Charles Dickens and reprinting them with no money to the author. English printing companies would do the same for works by American authors.

Eventually countries decided to honor each others copyrights with agreements. However that sets the base on a countries particular copyright law. Many countries have extensive copyright law on top of that base.