Question General information inquiry regarding translations and translating

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Okuri Ookami, Dec 20, 2015.

1. Okuri Ookami

Okuri Ookami 'Chi Chi Chi' calls the Sparrow

Reading List:
    Link
    I'm new to the (foreign) novel world as I've been reading for only a little over 6 months and I'm just now taking an active interest in the communicating aspect of the Novel community. I have a few questions I and other noobs who want to start translating might want to know.

How do you find out which novels are licensed?

If the novels are not licensed and you want to use the material for translations do you have to inform the author?

If you do inform the author or they find out about your translating their novel do you have to give them a portion of the donations you receive? If so how much?

What are good sites to find books from?

Since this would be classified as freelance translating do you pay taxes on the monies received from the sites?

How expensive is translating? Cost of site/server, Machine translating software, etc...

Any other information would be great as these are things I've been curious about and want to know if I want to start translating.

2. Star Collapse

Star Collapse Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    I think u should but this thread under translator corner or maybe request instead of discussion

3. Aicila

Aicila Huh?

Reading List:
    Link
    I can't answer everything because I don't know it all but I can try with a few.
    Don't think so.
    I doubt it. They're called 'donations' to circumvent legal issues. Technically, you're not being paid to translate their material, legal issues. You are doing it for free, but people donate to help you do whatever else.
    Would depend on the language you are looking to translate. You haven't specified yet but looking at your username i'll guess JP.