Question Should I use is or was?

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by wigglegui, Mar 19, 2018.

1. wigglegui

wigglegui Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Sort of confused about this part. I was told that I should always translate in past tense, but there are some parts which made me think if I should use 'is' or 'was'

Example 1: Is it "Tan En was the patriarch" or "Tan En is the patriarch".
    In this context, Tan En was still alive and the current patriarch in the novel.

Example 2: Is it "Holy City was the most prestigious city in the entire continent" or "Holy City is the most prestigious city in the entire continent".
    In this context, Holy City was still currently the most prestigious city in the entire continent.

2. raven

raven What to type?

Reading List:
    Link
    I am not an expert, but if living or alive you have to use "is".

3. NewbArtist

NewbArtist *Blubg

Reading List:
    Link
    "Tan En was(past) the patriarch" "Tan En is(present) the patriarch"

4. Liyus

Liyus Laksha's Desu~ Cat

Reading List:
    Link
    how is that confusing?both are "is", since both actualy exist/alive and the status didn't change....

5. kelkel1133

kelkel1133 Well-known Devil

Reading List:
    Link
    the two sentences would be placed as present. The context portrays the two as the current reigning entities so it would be wise to use "is" as opposed to the nature of the sentence (past tense)

Slayerwolfx2 likes this.
  6. Beer_Kitty

Beer_Kitty Just a very very drunk kitty that likes beer

Reading List:
    Link
    You should really read the meaning of present, future and past tense again.
    Present = still on going
    Future = will happen later on
    Past = already done

Both example should be is. Also your own message about the example is contradicting.
    Youre using was for past tense while using still which looks like a present tense.
    It should be Tan En "is" still the patriach etc.

Slayerwolfx2 likes this.