Recommendations The Best of the Best for a novice reader(ess)

Discussion in 'I'm Looking For...' started by Readeress, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Readeress

Readeress Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hello and sorry for my post being so long. I'm relatively new to light and web novels. Previously I've only read The Slayers and the Durarara novels, after watching their respective anime. With the Slayers being miles above the latter, the difference in quality was striking...

And so, because I don't want to wade into bad\mediocre LNs on accident and drop my foray into LNs altogether, I'm asking for LNs\WNs that are considered the best in quality and have good enough translations! They should be the best not necessarily in ranking, coz we all know that, say, stuff like ecchi and harems "sells", but I'm a woman (and pretty straight), so to me this is something I'm going to skip over. It doesn't mean I won't read anything with a harem, but it has to be something that is merely an addition to a good novel, not the main draw. (And that's why I'm asking in the forum rather than just looking at the rankings on this site).

So far, I'm planning to read Overlord, both WN and LN, as the anime made me a big fan of it. :)

This is stuff I'm currently reading and my impressions so far, if that helps you judge what I might like or dislike:
    - Legendary Moon Sculptor, I've heard that it started the litRPG genre, which is impressive. So far I've read volume 1, it was pretty interesting, although I couldn't find a perfect translation (spelling errors and words that were obviously meant to mean something else). Even so, the translation is good enough to understand everything.