Recruitment Newbie here, Searching for a Korean -> English Translator

Discussion in 'Translator's Corner' started by Burai1992, Aug 31, 2019.

1. Burai1992

Burai1992 Well-Known Member

Reading List:
    Link
    Hi, Burai1992 here.

I joined this site to find a Korean -> English Translator for a rather obscure Korean Alternate History novel about An Jung-geun failing to assassinate Ito Hirobumi which lead to Korea being a Japanese colony to this very day, that I really want to see an English-translated version of in honor the 100th anniversary of Korea's March 1st independence movement: https://forum.novelupdates.com/threads/in-search-of-the-epitaph-keijo-showa-year-62.92181/

If you speak Korean, please PM me if you're interested.

2. fox23

fox23 Digging Pits

Reading List:
    Link
    It might be difficult right now to get this (or any Korean novel) translated since a lot of Korean-English translators have been hit with Cease and Desist by Koran publishers. You might have to just stick with machine translations, sorry.

Wujigege likes this.
  3. Wujigege

Wujigege *Christian*SIMP*Comedian

Reading List:
    Link
    What the fox said and companies have most likely hired the only good translators left

4. Burai1992

Reading List:
    Link
    Well how do we avoid a Cease and Desist from Moonji Publishing (문학과지성사) (文學과知性社) ("In Search of the Epitaph: Keijo, Showa year 62"'s original publisher)? And no, I don't want to use a crappy online translator, and I want a professional translator.

5. fox23

fox23 Digging Pits

Reading List:
    Link
    Well, then you have to negotiate with the publisher to get the license (which costs money) before it can be translated. The publisher might just refuse to give the license or it may cost too much to get the license if the publisher does agree. :blobsweat_2:

6. Burai1992

Reading List:
    Link